“Creak.”

“Creak.”

Staring into the four walls filled with mementos, portraits of us that were yellowed, the silverware that were corroded, the lines that etched on the walls, the coffee table stained with memoirs, the house and its intrinsic value, all decrepit by time.

“Creak.”

A speckle of bronze slipped into the corner of my eyes, I stopped my rocking chair and deliberately ambled to the piece of memory. I lifted off the cloth, blew away the layers of dust built on the horn and plateau.

Our first.” Those cursive words were emblazoned at the center of the vinyl record which also meant a world to me. I spun the crank, slowly lowering the reproducteur and the decades-old record started to spiral into the circle of life.

Wise men say
Only fools rush in…

Nonchalantly retreated to my favourite spot, closed my eyes, lifting up the flood gates of memories which were encrypted in the song.

But I can’t help
Falling in love with…

A silky dark caramel arm was outstretched in front of me.

My gaze scrutinised her, gradually interlocked with hers. Looking at the familiar joyful beam, my heart sensed the analogous bonhomie of hers. My hands which were once calloused was rejuvenated with youth instinctively intertwined with hers.

The atmosphere was rewind to the genesis of our chapter, where two worlds merged into one, when time seemed to dissipate and a void of inexplicable reality engulfed us completely. The phonograph was in the middle of a room of nothingness except for our presence.

Like a river flows
Surely to the sea…

I stood up, the bulky young me was in a suit and tie, she was in a jet black dress which perfectly contrast with her genuine heart, her dark caramel hands were in my sturdy hands. No words were needed. She pulled me closer into her warm embrace. Another hand of mine slithered around her waist, finding the amenity which was gone for years.

We had each other, our hands wrapped each other tightly as if the world was going to tear us apart. Waltzing around the phonograph akin to the provenance of our meeting which were meticulously arranged by destiny. Our movements were synced as one, our heartbeats were unified.

Darling, sure it goes
Some things are meant to be…

Her essence started to ebb away, our grip was not as strong as just now, time was tweaking some of our machinery, impaired us, crumbled us from the inside out. Tears started to roll down my cheeks, she led me back to my rocking chair, conscientiously sat me down.

She bent forward and gently whispered. “Remember our promise. My time is up.”

Her presence were torn away like pieces of paper, gingerly floating toward the glint of light in the dark sky.

My head laid back to the rocking chair, sobs of grief resounded the room, turning the atmosphere back to the original. I closed my eyes, flashes of her passed my mind like a quick slide show, ending with her most beautiful face, flourished with joy, nothing in the world was as joyful as her.

Everything was reduced to pure white. I was back into her lap, enjoying our presence, staring at her gorgeous complexion, as if nothing else mattered.

For I can’t help
Falling in love with you.

