My body was brushing against the floor, two strong hands pulled me out of the hazy hole of smoke, I choked and gasped for air desperately. The taste of air soothed my respiratory tracts, quenched my parched lungs. My vision recovered from blurry. I saw a distorted figure above me, its hands were waving frantically in the air gesturing me to get out of here.

I was utterly clueless about my whereabouts, and how could I escape a place which was located under the sea in the middle of nowhere? I should just… The sirens blared, I wanted to pick myself up and run, but there was nowhere to run, I would just run myself into another invisible wall, and knocked myself unconscious, I had given up on escaping. Tubular metals spiked up from the floor, forming a cage surrounding me, I shrugged myself into a cocoon, cogitating about my chances of living after this ruckus.

The cell still bothered me too much, they chained me so I could not do anything funny which was superfluous. I did not want to move a single muscle, I hoped that I could be free, released back to my life. My brain ran through countless possibilities but to no avail, there was no way that I could get out of here.

It was difficult to record time here, not exposed to real sunlight, even the light was generated by electricity. I was still underwater, my hands were chained to the ground on separate ends, I was immobile, time was not on my side, food was scanty, disgusting. The disadvantages were overwhelming. My head spun due to the lack of nourishment and dehydration, I sunk into a reverie.

“Walter.” Her voice chimed my heart, she was standing beside me wearing her usual cherry red buttoned-up shirt, “Project Bunshin was absurd, you want to clone humans? Do you think we can pull this off? Do you know that we are violating the laws of nature? Do you really reckon that you are God?” Her voice was in a crescendo with disbelief.

“I am aware about those.” I exclaimed. Our gaze intertwined.

“Then, why…” Her eyes were raged.

“Jennifer, I need to tell you the whole story.”

“About what?” She was reluctant to accept what I was about to do.

“To be honest, this field, Biology, is a total alien to humans. Darwin stepped into this field knowing this much.” I clasped my hands in mid air in a clapping posture. “and what I know is beyond the world could comprehend.” I extended my arms wide.

“Bullshit. Don’t give me all this crap.” she was still not convinced.

I stood up from my chair. “Then how could you explain Project Goldfish? The project that you did not record. Why didn’t you question my abilities at that point of time? You knew it wasn’t a coincidence or serendipitous.”

A tense silence filled the air,”Why didn’t you tell me from the start? Why didn’t…”

“It was a huge mistake, I doubted you at first. But now…” guilt tinged my tone.

“Now what?” she felt cheated and was furious.

“I need…” I stammered.

“What do you need? Tell me honestly!” She slammed her fist on the table. “No more lies are going to come out of your…”

I pulled her into my cradle, my body against her tender and robust body, gathered the pieces of her, pasting them back into one after being pulmerised by me, “I need you.” I breathed into her ear. “I really need someone who I can put my trust on.”

She looked up at me, her eyes were beady, our gaze interlocked and the world around us collapsed into singularity, a formidable trust was bonded between our souls at this instance, the moment when a matter and an anti-matter cancelled out each other in this broad yet limited existence that we lived in.

All We Don’t Know (Part.2)

