“John. You sighted.” sent in Morse by Jane. “Prepare. Close combat. I watch you from  top.” the vicinity was filled with lead boxes of uranium packed the warehouse, stacked in various numbers. The middle was my target, a box of serum, the cure for humanity.

why in the world the cure is hidden in a warehouse filled with radioactive stuffs, I thought, Twelve in each o’clock, six humanoids, 120 beats pacing, other slower, inconsistent. I slunk into the another cover, took out the human guard at once, snapped his neck deliberately, leaving eleven standing, inorganic and organic.

With a tinge of intuition, I scrambled to my left as there was another one human guard swung into me from the top. He fell, I immediately cracked his skull using my metal boots, dealing a fatal blow. Shoot. I’m being noticed.

I ran for the it, exposing myself instantaneously, atavistic speed of hunting kicked in, the target was locked on. Nothing stopped me, the humanoids collapsed after they leapt out of their ground, the humans were still up, taken down one after another by Jane’s flying knives. Traditional.

Last three sprawled unto me, the knives stopped flying, I let my body go with the flow, dodging all of them at once, we were enhanced, all of us were, we just needed to outsmart each other. I sprinted for the serum. Something’s wrong, it smells. A piece of ignited bomb was attached to my body.

“Jane! Get the hell outta here!” I shouted. She obeyed, it was the code of conduct- sacrificing one is better than two. Pulling out the CRISPR in my pocket, it was an organism that would change the DNA configuration of the serum, making it airborne.

The bell was rung, my time was up, the bomb was detonated, blowing me into the direction of the serum. I held myself from death, demanding some extra seconds from him. My lower part of body was torn to piece, the immensity of pain was overwhelming, blurring my vision.

I… must… the vial of CRISPR was in my hands, emitting a luminous green, a resplendent glow, a hope in the dark. The serum miraculously appeared in my other hand. I smashed the two vials together, hoping that this long shot paid off, … saved…

Craving for more? Down below:
Revolution
Bitter Coward
David And Goliath Miracle
Providential, Never Confidential.
Volcanic Titan Duel

Collaboration

