“Get your ass out of here!” I prompted Jane to flee as I was holding on to a ticking explosion, 01:00, its blood-red blocks of indicators flashed intermittently, gesturing our death was near.

“NO! I won’t leave you again!” She was furious, pertinent, about my decision, “Why must you do this?”

“I am thinking about sacrifi…”

“Don’t you dare act like a hero, John!” she poked into my chest, 00:42, beep, beep, beep… 

“I’m no…”

“Shut it! Leave the goddamn bomb here!” she interjected.

“NO!” my voice reverberated the engine room of the city, buried underground, just beneath the sewers, if I could use myself as a sacrifice, the impact would be lesser and the city would be saved.

“Come on!” She pulled me, the engines hulled in the background, it was sweltering in here, I held my ground. 00:21 We looked at the digital timer attached to the bomb, it was speeding up. “Argh! Is there any wires to diffuse this bomb?” She snatched the bomb from me, my hands were still firmly holding it.

She manoevred across the bomb, finding no signs of hope. Not even a shimmer.

I pulled her into me, relishing upon ourselves in our end times. “John… I love you.” she whispered into my ears, crying at the same time.

“I love you too.”

BBBBOOOOOMMMM!!!!

The bomb detonated, our bodies absorbed the shock together, not letting any spark escaped from us. The city was saved, momentarily.

Craving for more? Down below:
Bully
War Torture
One Hacker
Icarus’ Fall
A Tinge of Luck

