Suit and tie in place, cologne not too overwhelming, a little tinge of courage was what I needed. I made sure every inch of my outfit was ironed properly, no creases were allowed in this attempt in meeting the one that I furtively loved for years. this is my chance, don’t screw things up. 

I marched to the aperture where the ball was held, keeping myself collected, knowing that she was a few feet away from me physically, but we were just strangers. The singular chandelier was glimmering in its grandiose crystals in the middle of a sea of people, a dim, somnolent atmosphere had found its way into the hall.

My eyes were skimming through the field of people, searching the one I had waited for these years. She was at her best, since I could ever remember, splendidly dressed in her ethereal beauty, her dark caramel skin sweetened her demeanor, her posture, purveying the exquisite sight for me.

Heart palpitating, palms sweating, nothing irregular, I clasped my hands at my back, striding in an awkward pace to her where I could greet her after these times. “Hey….” I stammered with bated breath.

She turned around with her hair brushing across her face, sweeping the few strands of dangling hair back into place. “Hey… Ooo…” a pause, a subtle one, our gaze interlocked as if lovers from the sun met after a long time. She head cowered a little, regaining her dainty stance, “Bryan! It’s been so long!” she said in her usual voice slinking with positivity that of those days, unchanged.

“Haha. Yeah… It’s been some time. Three years? Maybe more?”

“Maybe. I want you to meet my husband.” What? “Here is John. And this is Bryan.” this must be a dream.

“Nice to meet you.” John said in his deep rumbling voice. Stretching his hand out for a gesture of kindness. Wha… I shook his hand, left abruptly by uttering something that I could not recollect

Craving for more? Down below:
Tapering Hope
Fair Lady
Love Without Boundaries
Punished
Falling in

Cringe

