The ambiance of the forest was of pin-drop silence, not even the swishing of leaves resounded in my ears. I stopped, hid myself behind a tall bush, not even a sound was heard. I thought to myself, what is happening? I tried stepping on the ground, brushing my legs on the leaf covered floor, my chest was heaving up and down, not a feeling of touch, and the worse thing was, I could not hear, at all, even to my own voice.

“ARGHHH!!!” I shouted, birds that perched on the trees scrammed into the skies of dawn, the day had gotten brighter compared from the advent of stepping into this island, zero sense of touch, zero sense of hearing, three more sense left for disposal. Her description was counterfeit, giving me the false ray of hope to escape from this treachery.

A familiar voice struck my head as it spun my head into the stars, “Do you think you could run from us?” My ear tweaked, I turned to my back, fended against the sudden ambush from a monk, I yanked him aside, and picked myself up to run. “You can run, but you cannot hide.” I ran, slowing down my speed as a coruscation flitted across my mind, gesturing to me about a crucial piece of information. My vision went dark as my mind decided to turn itself out.

“Ten… Nine… Eight…” My mother counted down at a corner of the house.

“Come on, John. Hurry up.” Dave called me in a sibilant tone, pointing to a store room in the house.

” …Seven… Six…”  I ran to my brother’s side, hiding into the room as an aegis for us.

“This is going to be the best hiding spot.” Dave whispered in bated breath.

“Are you sure?” I questioned him, “Then how do mummy find us?”

“…Five… four…”

“This is the main motive of the game, to get away from mommy as long as possible.” Dave spoke in a hushed tone, not wanting to let the cat out of the bag.

“Three… Two…”

An old grandfather clock held my attention which was in the dark and dusty store room, and an opening of light shone unto the face of the clock. The swing of the pendulum in it was very fascinating. DONG. “Arghh!” We shouted in unison.

“one.” Our mum stood before us, “How many times you have to hide in the same place?” We giggled with hands covering our mouth.

Craving for more? Down below:
Nian (Finale)
Shalom (Finale)
Little Walk in The Forest (Finale)
Coloured Hearts (Finale)
All We Don’t Know (Finale)
Cherry Blossomed (Finale)

For the previous piece: Chained Parapet #7

