“Doggo. Lend me your scarf.” I wrapped my eyes with it, wreathed it tightly, making sure no light was able to penetrate through, I capped it with my sunglasses, making sure the scarf was even secured.

Darkness, pitch black, nothingness, it was an utterly profound experience, I could not imagine how she could make life happened, but she did it. We were being led by my cameraman, my office seemed obscure to me, I was scared, having a phobia about not seeing, afraid of touching something that I was not suppose to touch.

I grabbed Molly by the elbow, it is a basic manner, she cited if you ever wanted to lead a blind to cross the road, or offer any kind of help. Doggo was leading her, and she was leading me, a guide leading a blind leading a temporal blind, what a queer experience.

“Let’s get coffee which is across the street.” I said nonchalantly, she agreed in assent. “Is this recording?” I asked myself, being blind, I could not know my recording was rolling or not, I needed to ask my cameraman.

It was a difficult task, being shrouded in darkness, I was slightly out of balance at times, I did not know where I was going, it was a sophisticated experience. We crammed into the lift to get down from my office, they were no Braille on the lift, we had to ask people to help us to press the lift. “Asking is very important to me, because I could not see, my hands are my eyes which could not see, so I need to always ask.

We were going up and down in the lift, I was still in darkness, still afraid of my surroundings, my right hand was clinging to her elbow, pitch black, fear. A man came in, “Can you please help us press the button to the first floor?” he obeyed. When the lift opened, she asked, “Are we there?” the man answered a yes, we thanked him for his kindness.

Doggo in the lead, it stopped at the door, Molly had the handle, I was afraid of moving, I was afraid of hitting something, Molly was my only guide, and my other senses which I took for granted. I knew where to turn to the coffee shop, it was my territory, I told her the direction, she prompted Doggo, and it led us once more.

We stopped at a junction, not knowing when to go, “We need to ask.” Molly said because it is a norm to her. No one was there at that point in time, “Guess we have to risk it.” she pulled me to the front, I was still in darkness, still afraid, uncertain, scared. However, we made it across.

‘Cause you had a bad day, you’re taking one down, you sing a sad song just to turn it around… “It’s a clothing shop.” I mentioned to her, assuring to us that we were heading in the right direction. Pitch black, really uncomfortable. “We’re near.” Molly prompted Doggo to find the door, we did not get it the first try, walking further down, using our sense of smell, we eventually found our way into the coffee shop.

Lining up, not knowing whether it was our turn or not, we had to ask again. Even when paying, tipping, I had to ask the cashier to take my finger and use the fingerprint recognisation for payment, I had to trust the cashier. We got our coffee. Enough. I took off my blindfold, light deluged my eyes, colours of life burst in my thoughts, it is a norm to her, because she was borned blind, (she did not like the term visually impaired), but I was thrown into pitch black impromptu, it was a great experience, being blind.

Inspired by : Casey Neistat , Molly

Unusual

Craving for more? Down below:
Tough Bite
Moriah Moments #1
Boiling Broth
Perennial Loop
Unruly

