DISCLAIMER: This post is originally posted as a guest post on Benjamin’s blog, go visit his Youtube channel too! Check out his attempt in this write-up, here! The main reason that I re-post this is to keep this as one of my memories. Hope you would understand, and enjoy!


The afternoon sun was merciless as ever, the classes wearied me down until my very bones that were crying out for the bed, the mandatory activity that was supposed to be attended by me, I went. It was a language club activity which was mundane, and it was a good place for my mind to take a breather before submerging back into revising back home.

One of the games that they had captured my attention, it was a game of ‘dating’. The game went as such, the seniors in a row and the juniors in another, the seniors were supposed to ask five questions, each one to a different junior, and alas picking the one that the seniors wanted to date out of the one question that were given to five separate juniors.

“If tomorrow was the last day of your life, what would you do?” that question sent my thoughts into deep reverie, neurones sending impulses at a mad pace after a brief total pause, nothing else got through me, I bit my lip and let everything run wild inside my faculty of thoughts.

What am I going to do? That was the first thing that came into my mind after the hiccup in between my vacant mind. Her, someone that was imaginative and fictional, coruscated through my mind which was a non-existent being, was quickly discarded as for the reason that I did not have a ‘her’ in my life yet.

The next moment, I realised myself sitting in front of my laptop, with some chill pop playing in the background, composing my writings for the very last time, promulgating my final effort, contribution in writing to the avid readers, to my friends, to anonymous. I would not write something that is disheartening or uplifting, I would do my usual, crafting my piece of short fiction of the day, and posting it.

Laying rest on the lazy chair in front of the laptop, I picked up my phone, and asked my friends out for the one last time, those people whom I cherished most in life, to meet-up. They might have people that they wanted to be with, but I would give it a go by just calling everyone that I wanted to see for the final time, even my rivals, or someone that I dislike, to resolve, to share, to talk when we still had the breath of life.

I would go to the mamak store, ordering my usual milo ice and something additional, the teh tarik and roti canai, and having to set the rendezvous point there as to meet up with my friends. Congregating with more friends at different venues of their desires. The sun was blistering, I hoped, so that I could have one last football match with anyone. Having to kick, to catch the ball as the goalkeeper is one of the best sports in the world.

Guess what, the night would be spent at home, I had nowhere to go, except for up and up. One last dinner with my family, teasing my siblings for once more, debating about the recent issues with my family, having the dinner table as loud as possible, for one last time.

Fingers across my keyboard, one last post, one last text to my crush, reflection to my mementos of my past. A vibration or none, I would stare blankly at my phone, touching millions shards of memoirs at once, inhaling oxygen filled air for one last time, dropping my phone, looking up to the white ceiling, taking in the first breath from heaven.

Symphony

Craving for more? Down below:
Half-Hearted
Lust Devoured
I QUIT!
It Is Us.
Losing My Chill

